Marijuana Laws in Wisconsin
It’s illegal to possess, sell or grow marijuana in Wisconsin. It’s also illegal to possess or sell paraphernalia related to marijuana.
Possession of any amount, if it’s your first offense, is a misdemeanor. You could be jailed for up to 6 months and fined up to $1,000. After your first possession offense, it becomes a felony, which carries a potential 3 years and 6 months behind bars and a fine of up to $10,000.
Sale or Delivery of Marijuana in Wisconsin
The sale or delivery of marijuana in Wisconsin, regardless of the amount, is a felony. The more you have, the longer your incarceration could be. (If you have more than 10,000 grams, you could be incarcerated for up to 15 years and fined up to $50,000.)
Growing Marijuana in Wisconsin
It’s a felony to grow marijuana in Wisconsin. Here’s how much prison time you could get, based on the number of plants you’re growing:
- 4 plants or fewer: 3.5 years incarceration
- 4 to 20 plants: 6 years incarceration
- 20 to 50 plants: 10 years incarceration
- 50 to 200 plants: 12 years, 6 months incarceration
- More than 200 plants: 15 years incarceration
Marijuana Paraphernalia in Wisconsin
If you’re caught using or possessing paraphernalia, it’s a misdemeanor that could get you 30 days behind bars and a $500 fine. If you sell or distribute paraphernalia, it’s 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney About Marijuana Laws in Wisconsin?
Whether you were caught with a few joints or a significant amount of marijuana, our marijuana defense attorneys may be able to help you. Call us immediately at 414-383-6700 (Milwaukee) or 262-650-6700 (Waukesha) for a free drug case review. We’ll answer your questions and give you case-specific legal advice now.