What is Hit and Run in Wisconsin?

Wisconsin Criminal Law Blog

Copyright 2012 by Gamino Law Offices, LLC | All rights reserved.
    1746 S. Muskego Ave. | Milwaukee, WI  53204 | 414-383-6700 

Recent Articles
Is Hit and Run a Misdemeanor?

Hit and run may be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the extent of the other person’s injuries and how much damage occurred.

What Are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident?

The penalties for a hit and run depend on the injuries and amount of damage involved. You could be looking at a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to 9 months in jail and $10,000 in fines unless someone is seriously injured; in that case, you could be facing a Class E or Class D felony. (A Class E felony carries up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $50,000, while a Class D felony carries a penalty of up to 25 years in prison and fines of up to $100,000.)

You’re better off staying at the scene – no matter how much damage is done or how much trouble you think you’ll be in. However, if you didn’t, you’re most likely in need of a Milwaukee hit and run lawyer who can defend you in court and help you get the best possible outcome.

Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About Hit and Run Charges in Milwaukee?

If you’ve been charged with hit and run in Milwaukee or any of the surrounding communities, we may be able to help you.

Call us at 414-383-6700 for a free case review. You’ll talk to an experienced attorney who understands what you’re going through – and who will work hard to preserve your rights and get you the best possible outcome in your case.

Carlos Gamino

Sign InView Entries
What do you think of the information on this topic?Strongly Agree
Agree
Neither Agree nor Disagree
Disagree
Strongly Disagree
What is Hit and Run in Wisconsin - Carlos Gamino
By Carlos Gamino

If you’re involved in a car accident, whether it’s with another car or a pedestrian, bicyclist or another person, you have a legal obligation to stop immediately. You have to stick around – and if you leave the scene of the accident, you could be charged with hit and run… even if the accident was not your fault. 

If you leave and come back, the police can still charge you with hit and run.
Criminal Defense Attorney
DEDICATED TO PROTECTING YOUR RIGHTS
414-383-6700 Milwaukee and Southeastern Wisconsin

Gamino Law Offices - Milwaukee Immigration Lawyer
Phones Answered 24/7
COMPLETE THIS FORM TO TALK TO AN ATTORNEY
I reviewed the