criminal record, and that can affect your chances of getting a job, finding a decent place to live, and have all sorts of other negative consequences. For most people, it makes sense to work with a Waukesha theft defense attorney who understands Wisconsin law and who can help you through the entire criminal court process.
But what counts as misdemeanor theft, and what are the immediate penalties of a conviction?
What is Misdemeanor Theft?
Misdemeanor theft occurs, according to Wisconsin law, when someone “intentionally takes and carries away, uses, transfers, conceals, or retains possession of movable property of another without the other’s consent and with intent to deprive the owner permanently of possession of such property.”
Theft is a misdemeanor when the property that’s been stolen is under $2,500. When that’s the case, it’s considered a Class A misdemeanor. The punishment is a fine of up to $10,000, up to 9 months in jail, or a combination of both.
What Should You Do if You’re Accused of Misdemeanor Theft in Waukesha?
Your lawyer can build a strategy that gets you the best possible outcome. First, you’ll need to explain the situation: what led up to the incident, what really happened, and how you came to be charged with misdemeanor theft.
Your attorney is also going to find out what kind of evidence the prosecution has against you so he or she can attempt to refute it in court.
Do You Need to Talk to a Waukesha Misdemeanor Theft Lawyer?
If you need to talk to an attorney about a misdemeanor theft charge that you’ve received, call us at 262-650-6700 (or 414-383-6700 if you’d like to talk to someone in our Milwaukee office) for a free theft defense consultation. We’ll ask you some questions and provide you with case-specific legal advice.