in Wisconsin have committed a Class F felony and are subject to:
•Up to 12 years, 6 months of imprisonment (with a maximum of 7 years, 6 months of initial confinement and a maximum of 5 years of extended supervision) •A fine of up to $25,000. Being armed during the commission of a robbery changes the whole ballgame, as does committing a battery during the commission of a robbery. The crime then becomes a Class E felony, which carries a penalty of up to 15 years of imprisonment (with up to 10 years of initial confinement and up to 5 years of extended supervision) and a fine of up to $50,000.
What it Takes to Be Charged With Burglary in Wisconsin
You can be charged with burglary if police suspect that you’ve committed it – but in order to be convicted, you must have entered a place without permission with the intent to steal something or to commit a felony. Wisconsin law defines burglary as entering any building or dwelling, as well as:
- A motor home (or another motorized home), even if nobody lives in it
- A trailer, even if nobody lives in it
- A locked, enclosed cargo portion of a truck or trailer
- An enclosed portion of a ship or vessel
- Any room within any of these locations
Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About Going to Jail for Burglary?
Call us at 414-383-6700. Let us know what happened and why you think you’re going to jail for burglary, and we may be able to develop a defense strategy that gets you the best possible outcome.
The sooner you call, the sooner we can start helping you.