Hit and Run Charges in Wisconsin

Wisconsin Criminal Law Blog

Copyright 2012 by Gamino Law Offices, LLC | All rights reserved.
    1746 S. Muskego Ave. | Milwaukee, WI  53204 | 414-383-6700 

Recent Articles
What Are Hit and Run Charges in Wisconsin?

In the state of Wisconsin, failing to stick around after an accident can result in criminal charges. If you leave the scene of an accident that didn’t result in any injuries, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and pay fines of up to $1,000 – and you could be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail.

Injuries change everything. Here’s what you need to know:

  • If you leave the scene of a crash that caused minor injuries, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, spend up to 9 months in jail, and pay fines of up to $10,000.
  • If you leave the scene of a crash that caused great bodily harm, you could be charged with a Class E felony, imprisoned for up to 15 years, and pay fines of up to $50,000.
  • If you leave the scene of a crash that caused a fatality, you could be charged with a Class D felony, imprisoned for up to 25 years, and pay fines of up to $100,000.

If you leave the scene of the accident but come back, you can still be charged with hit and run. You’ll still be subject to all the same penalties, too. Your best bet is to stay at the scene and exchange information with the other party, and call an attorney as soon as possible – even if you’re not guilty of anything but being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Do You Need to Talk to a Lawyer About Hit and Run Charges?

We can help you with hit and run charges. Call us at 414-383-6700 for a free case evaluation right now so we can answer your questions and, if necessary, start building a defense that gets you the best possible outcome.

Carlos Gamino


Sign InView Entries
What do you think of the information on this topic?Strongly Agree
Agree
Neither Agree nor Disagree
Disagree
Strongly Disagree
Hit and Run Charges in Wisconsin - Carlos Gamino
By Carlos Gamino

Hit and run charges are extremely serious. If you’re in any type of accident, you must stay and exchange information with the other party involved. That’s true whether or not the accident was your fault.

If you leave the scene of an accident, you could pick up hit and run charges – and if the court finds you guilty, you could be facing jail time and serious fines.

Criminal Defense Attorney
DEDICATED TO PROTECTING YOUR RIGHTS
414-383-6700 Milwaukee and Southeastern Wisconsin

Gamino Law Offices - Milwaukee Immigration Lawyer
Phones Answered 24/7
COMPLETE THIS FORM TO TALK TO AN ATTORNEY
I reviewed the