This isn’t a comprehensive list, but they are the most common reasons the state requires people to register.
But what happens if you fail to register as a sex offender in Wisconsin?
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Wisconsin
Wisconsin law requires that you register as a sex offender if a judge orders you to do so. If you don’t register, you’re guilty of another crime – and it could have serious consequences.
The first time you fail to register as a sex offender, provided that you did so knowingly, you could be fined up to $10,000 and imprisoned for up to 9 months. Second or subsequent offenses are Class H felonies. The district attorney or the Wisconsin Department of Justice can prosecute you if you fail to register.
What Information Does the Public Get from the WI Sex Offender Registry?
The Wisconsin Sex Offender Registry is available to the public. It provides information on the type of crime you committed, your current home address and other information. If available, the registry will also show your picture and a map of your residence.
It also includes your:
Your aliases, the date that your registration begins and ends, and your incarceration or supervision status is also listed on the WI Sex Offender Registry.
Anyone can search the database by entering your name. You don’t need a complete name to search, either – just a last name will do. People can also search based on neighborhoods and ZIP codes.
What to Do if You’re Charged with a Sex Crime in Wisconsin
Many sex crimes in Wisconsin require you to register as a sex offender, which can have a long-lasting, negative impact on your life. If you’re being accused of committing a sex crime, talk to a sensitive crime lawyer in Milwaukee right away – it could be the best decision you make.