Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Milwaukee
Wisconsin Criminal Law Blog
Copyright 2012 by Gamino Law Offices, LLC | All rights reserved.
1746 S. Muskego Ave. | Milwaukee, WI 53204 | 414-383-6700
convicted of certain sex crimes. It also includes identifying information, such as:
If you’ve been convicted of a sex crime, you must remain on the sex offender registry for a set period of time after your sentence is complete. In some cases, the courts require lifetime registration. (If you have questions about the sex offender registry or its purpose, our Milwaukee sex offender registration lawyers may be able to answer them for you.)
You’re required to register once a year, and it applies to you even if you were convicted in another state. Additionally, you’re required to notify the Department of Corrections if you move or make other significant changes.
What Happens if You Fail to Register as a Sex Offender?
If you fail to register as a sex offender in the state of Wisconsin, you’ll be facing harsh penalties that can include:
- A $10,000 fine and up to 9 months in jail (first offense)
- A $10,000 fine and up to 5 years in prison (second offense)
The Bottom Line on Sex Offender Registration
If you were required to register as a sex offender in the state of Wisconsin that fail to do so, you could be facing extremely harsh penalties. It may be a good idea to contact our Wisconsin sex offender registry lawyers for case-specific legal advice that can help you with this difficult situation. Call us at 414-383-6700 or 262-650-6700. If it’s easier, you can also contact us online for help. If you’re convicted of a sex crime in Milwaukee, Waukesha or any other Wisconsin community, you’ll most likely be required to register as a sex offender on the Wisconsin Sex Offender Registry. The website, which is maintained by the Wisconsin Department of Corrections, contains a list of people who had been
DEDICATED TO PROTECTING YOUR RIGHTS
414-383-6700 Milwaukee and Southeastern Wisconsin
COMPLETE THIS FORM TO TALK TO AN ATTORNEY